The Libraries Consortium


The Libraries Consortium launched the new Discover Library Service Platform on 7th October in Sutton, UK.  You can hear user perspectives and see a demo of the new platform.


The Libraries Consortium will become the leading player in the success of the nation’s libraries; a powerhouse for new ideas for what libraries can deliver and the way that they work; and the most efficient and cost-effective provider of shared libraries support services.


  • Making savings and efficiencies
  • Sharing knowledge to build expertise
  • Developing creative new library models
  • Delivering even better customer service
  • Deeper, broader partnership working


  • Shared catalogue providing access to millions of resources
  • Shared expertise and resources, stock managers from different authorities work together on library policies
  • Comprehensive training programme on transition to new library management system
  • A new and exciting library service platform

About TLC

The Libraries Consortium has been able to grow and flourish thanks to each of its 23 members. There is power in a consortium partnership voice – it provides the strength to lead together under a unified plan, and reinforces the concept that each library contributes to the consistent drive needed to innovate, adapt, improve, influence and persuade. The consortium has demonstrated great determination and the ability to innovate – qualities key in forging a community driven library service that our customers deserve. Whilst some members report making savings as a result of being part of the consortium, for others, the consortium enables them to do more with less – providing access to facilities that they could not afford on their own; to the expertise and resources of all its members; and to savings each year.

0 m
0 m

Current Member Authorities

The Libraries Consortium (TLC) (until recently the London Libraries Consortium) has existed since 2002. It started with two boroughs and now is made up of 23 local authorities, of which 19 are London boroughs:

London Borough of Barking & Dagenham

London Borough of Brent

London Borough of Croydon

London Borough of Ealing

London Borough of Enfield

Essex County Council

London Borough of Hackney

London Borough of Havering

London Borough of Harrow

London Borough of Hounslow

Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames

London Borough of Lewisham

Luton Borough Council

London Borough of Merton

London Borough of Newham

London Borough of Sutton
(Lead Authority)

Surrey County Council

Borough of Thurrock

London Borough of Tower Hamlets

London Borough of Redbridge

London Borough of Waltham Forest

London Borough of Hammersmith

London Borough of Haringey

Latest News & Events

Public Sector Insight Week

5 Days, 138 Speakers Sign up to hear more about the innovative library services platform being developed by SirisDynix, Solus...

Read More

Subscribe to our newsletter

Join our newsletter to receive last news & updates.

Still have questions?